Misdemeanor Penalties In Arizona

Misdemeanor Penalties In Arizona

Misdemeanors in Arizona are classified in three categories. They are Class 1, 2, or 3 Misdemeanors. The Classification designates the penalty to be imposed. Any offense declared by law to be a misdemeanor without either specification of the classification or of the penalty is a class 2 misdemeanor. A.R.S. § 13-602(B).

Some Misdemeanors have a mandatory minimum penalty. Such offenses require the judge to sentence you to no less than the mandatory minimum. For example, all Misdemeanor DUIs in Arizona have mandatory minimum penalties. A first offense Extreme DUI has a minimum jail sentence of 30 consecutive days. This means the judge must sentence you to not less than 30 consecutive days in jail and up to six months. Therefore, in addition to the misdemeanor penalties set forth below, you should consult an attorney to see if your offense has any mandatory minimum penalty requirements.

Sentencing Chart

Be aware that Arizona law requires that a person convicted of the same misdemeanor within two years of the date of the present offense must be sentenced for the next higher class of offense for which the person currently stands convicted. A.R.S. § 13-707(B)
The above chart sets forth the following penalties.

Class 1 Misdemeanors

Class 1 Misdemeanors are punishable by a jail sentence of up to six months and/or a fine of up to $2,500 for a person. A.R.S. §§ 13-707, 13-802. Criminal enterprises are subject to higher fines.

Class 2 Misdemeanors

Class 2 Misdemeanors are punishable by a jail sentence of up to four months and/or a fine of up to $750 for a person. A.R.S. §§ 13-707, 13-802. Criminal enterprises are subject to higher fines.

Class 3 Misdemeanors

Class 3 Misdemeanors are punishable by a jail sentence of up to 30 days and/or a fine of up to $500 for a person. A.R.S. §§ 13-707, 13-802. Criminal enterprises are subject to higher fines.